Sometimes, life is just magical.

You ever have one of those moments? You know, where it feels like you’ve been searching and searching for something and all of a sudden it falls right in your lap? I had one of those today.

So I’m in class and I’m writing this story about a Nigerian student here at Rider who is building eco-friendly wheelchairs. In my lede I decided to describe a scene in Nigeria where a polio-stricken man has to use his daughter’s flip-flops to protect his hands while walking on all fours. And then I realized it. This is it. This is what I want to do. I want to write about international issues. I want to write about the diversity of this world! I’ll even write them if they’re fluffy feature stories.

Ah! I’m addicted to it. I’m addicted to travel. I’m addicted to culture. I’m addicted to all of the different people in this world. You see, I live in the international building at Rider (not really sure how I got put there my freshman year) and I’m in LOVE with it. Monday night: Rachel from Malaysia whips up some tasty Asian food in the lounge. Tuesday: I visit Nerrissa and Devoncia, Virgin Island natives, to get a sense of the island life. Wednesday: It’s time to talk spirituality with my Bhutanese roommate. And the list goes on.

I’ve had a taste of what is out there in the world, and I’m hooked. My flight to Ghana can’t come soon enough. I want to ride the tro-tro. I want to traipse through the African deserts in search of elephants and lions. I want to swing through the canopies in the tropical rain-forests. My patience is dwindling!

Okay, enough of this day dreaming. Back to reality. Back to the lackluster, white cinder-block walls of Fine Arts Classroom 249. Sigh. But hey- I have no room to complain. I’ve got a roof over my head, food awaiting me in my room and shoes under my feet. Anything is possible. The world is my oyster.

Good night. šŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

One response to “Sometimes, life is just magical.

  1. Yangzom

    YAY MANDA! I like it šŸ˜‰ I’m going to subscribe šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

