This place is full of surprises..

A bird sits on my window every morning and chirps (more like screams) into my room. If it’s approximately 6:10 a.m., this bird is there, vocal chords- or whatever it has- warmed up. Tweeting its little head off. My all-natural alarm clock. : )

Anyways, I always find it funny when I see someone wearing a Burberry knock-off shirt or when a Honda pulls up next to me. Or when our neighbor blasts Shania Twain or little kids are jamming out to Lil Wayne on the roadside. I don’t know why. I guess just because I’m so used to seeing these things at home and they just stand out here from the rest of the culture and environment. Just an observation. : )

Well, today we learned how to ride the “tro-tro,” mini vans that cart people around the city. They add in an extra row to a normal van, and manage to squish 25 people in one vehicle. It’s a blast. The tro-tro pulls up next to you and one person (we just call him the “call guy”) yells the final destination out the window. It all sounds like mumble jumble to me now, but I’m sure in time I’ll be able to understand what they’re saying. After you get on, you tell them where you want to stop and give them your money. On our way back from the city, a brawl picked up between several tro-tro call guys. They all were fighting for our business, I guess. And it was almost hilarious. They were all yelling in Twi and we had NO idea what was going on. I loved it.

Today we also visited the W. E. B. Du Bois memorial and museum. And also the Kwame Nkrumah museum. He was Ghana’s first president, and led Ghana to independence from the British. I’ve never been big on museums, but these places were amazing. So inspirational. The messages of these two people are the spirit of this place. Equality. Freedom. Peace.

“One thing alone I charge you. As you live, believe in life! Always human beings will live and progress to greater, broader and fuller life. The only possible death is to lose belief in this truth simply because the great end comes slowly, because time is long.”

– W. E. B. Du Bois.

 (Photo credit: Harvard Square Library)

Africa has made me come alive.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

