Making the best out of each day.

Last weekend we volunteered at Hope Community, an all boys orphanage near Madina, a small town just several miles north of my neighborhood. As soon as we got there we were introduced so some of the other local hands with the project, and we started our day of work.

The orphan boys were so kind. Also, very curious about us. I befriended two in particular: Foster and Desmond. Desmond is 10 years old, and an absolute sweet heart. He wants to be an artist. He drew several sketches of flowers for me. AH! I haven’t met a kid who liked art, of all things, in so long! Most boys (of all ages for that matter) I know obsess over video games or Halo of Wa… something or other. It was seriously refreshing.

As for Foster, he’s about to go into high school and the orphanage might be unable to support him. I’m checking with their director to see if I could put a short bio online and try to get some people to sponsor his education. He has no one.. and he wants to be an architect.. and if he can’t get through high school, he told me, he will have to start selling things on the streets.. and I don’t want that. And I don’t think any human that’s capable of even one pinch of emotion would want that either.

I started my first full week at Anani School, and I LOVE IT, except for the fact that I don’t know what I’m teaching until the night before. Usually around 9 p.m. I’ll get a text from Sammy, a local guy I’m teaching 5th and 6th grade with, telling me the topics. Like yesterday, for instance. My phone beeped. I look at his message: “Be prepared to discuss soil. 1. Formation of soil. 2. Types of soil. 3. Soil erosion. 4. How to control soil erosion. Hope this is okay!”

The only thing I knew about African soil is that… well, a lot of it is orange. Let’s just say that was an interesting day. I’m learning oodles as well and seriously considering going on the show Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader when I return to the states.

But I have to say, I love love love the mindset of these people. Take one day at a time. Don’t worry. Be happy. And live every moment to the fullest. I’ll leave off my blog with a quote that my friend Kofi texted me yesterday morning:

“Another new day. Try to make the best it. Of each second, of each minute, of each hour.”

: ) Cheers to that.

1 Comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

One response to “Making the best out of each day.

  1. Lynn Bannan

    Love the quote!!!!!

    Love you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

