Changing the world one…bucket list at a time?

Something pretty cool happened the other day during work. I was just sitting on my little wooden bench during lunch. The kids, as usual, were going insane. Just mentioning food or free time and they’re up, running around like chickens with their heads cut off. I got out my travel journal, where I just keep random thoughts, and I started adding a few things to my bucket list. I looked up and saw Richmond Mohammad, who is quickly becoming one of my favorite students, staring straight into my notebook, mesmerized.

“What’s this?” He asked me.

“Well it’s a bucket list. A list of things I want to do before I die,” I replied.

Before I knew it, seven or so boys were all surrounding me, peering into my notebook with amazement. Here were a few of their favorites:

5. Kiss a stranger.

7. Pet a wild elephant.

11. Go ice-fishing.

15. Go skydiving.

Number five they just pointed to and looked at each other with big, googly eyes, and giggled. Number seven definitely amused them too. As soon as they read it, they burst out into howls of laughter. I’m guessing they were thinking something like “silly white girl.” They didn’t understand why anyone would want to go ice-fishing when you could go regular fishing, in a sane and comfortable temperature. And they all thought the skydiving one was pretty b.a. (Bad a$$)

So that was definitely the highlight of my day, maybe my week even. Some of them started working on lists of their own, including Sam, the guy I’m teaching the class with. One of his is to go golfing. So, today I’m researching golf courses in Accra. If there aren’t any (which I’m suspecting there aren’t) I’ll buy a golf club, some balls, and find a random patch of grass or beach that we could hit from. It’s exciting to think I could help someone do something they’ve always wanted to do… if that statement even makes sense. You get my drift.

Oh, and I have to add that there’s nothing better than going to the beach when the moon is nearly full- illuminating every wave and grain of sand. Feeling it under the soles of your feet, between your toes, your dress hemlines getting wet from wading in the water, a tepid ocean breeze completely engulfing your senses. Just one of those things in life that can’t be put into words.

Til next time,

: )

1 Comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

One response to “Changing the world one…bucket list at a time?

  1. mom

    kissing a stranger is ok as long as i can pick him out for you. petting a “wild” elephant may be ok if it’s a baby and it’s mother died giving birth and the rest of the herd abandoned him-???possible-i guess??? ice fishing-help yourself!!! and sky diving-go for it!!!—silly white girl : )

Leave a Reply

