I slept on a hammock.

Because of the lack of sugary treats here in Ghana, I have resorted to melting a chocolate bar over a piece of bread. I actually think they added my new creation to the deadly sins list, upping the number to to eight.

Oh, and deciding to read Jurassic Park on a weekend camping trip wasn’t the best idea. Turns out the Ghana coast is very similar to Isla Nublar and common forest noises cause extreme dinosaur paranoia.

But other than that, life is absolutely wonderful. I’m really becoming inspired, and for the first time in my life I can actually see myself living in a place like this, or working here for several years. There are so many areas of this country that need help. I’ve never been one to put the environment before human rights, but I can’t help but deeply want to organize a massive beach clean-up one weekend. Ruth and I are in the process of setting aside a day to pick trash.

The thing is that “going green” here wouldn’t just benefit the earth, it would benefit the entire population. The smog from the highway is absolutely awful. So hard to breathe in. Trash speckles the coast. And people don’t know any better. The ground is their trashcan, but we can’t blame them because they simply have been raised this way.

Anyways, back to this camping trip. Billy and I went with a bunch of students from the Aya Centre. Seven cedis a night for a little hut. Transportation fees totaled to about five cedis each way. Not bad, considering it was about a two-hour trip in just one direction. This included a tro-tro ride from Accra to Tema, then to Ada Foah. And then a boat, yes I said a boat, ride out to the secluded beach. Probably one of the coolest things ever. And nice and cheap. Does it get any sweeter?

Not to mention, the island- absolutely beautiful. Breathtaking. Like something from a book or a movie. It didn’t seem real. Our own little tropical paradise. The tip of the land mass was where the Atlantic Ocean meets the Gulf of Guinea. The water there is supposedly very rough. (I wouldn’t know, I didn’t dare get in there.) But the ocean was relatively cleaner than in Accra. On one side of the island was the Atlantic. On the other- a mammoth of a bay.

Palm trees dotted the tiny land mass, hammocks connecting most of them. The huts didn’t have a floor- just sand. This was awesome, except that sand gets in each little crease of the bed, which is one of the worst feelings in the entire universe. Sleeping on a sandy bed.

A side note… I slept in a hammock. Once I opened my eyes in the morning I realized that five or six ginormous coconuts were positioned directly above my head. Did you know more people die from coconuts each year than from sharks? I’m happy to say that I have not contributed to this statistic.

Anyways, that was my weekend.

A beautiful, harmonious couple days on a random island protruding from the African coast.

1 Comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

One response to “I slept on a hammock.

  1. Kiera

    It sounds like you are having a wonderful experience!! We miss you here at Rider, but are glad you are doing something so awesome! Keep us updated!

Leave a Reply

